Nottingham Open Day – and…

The first part of this post can only be to say one thing: I just sent off my application to Nottingham, RVC, Liverpool and Bristol Universities! I was (am) so nervous just to do it, I read and re-read my personal statement so many times and then had to make a bunch of last minute changes to fit the 3,999 characters onto those 47 permitted lines. But eventually UCAS accepted it, I made Tom double-check all my details, paid my money and pressed the red button. Aaaaaargh!

On an equally exciting note, we spent yesterday at the open day for the Nottingham vet school. I am a little bit in love with this one. The facilities were modern and expansive and their teachings methods sound really varied. They also integrate more practical work and clinical skills into the early years of the course compared to the other schools. Although I have every intention of applying myself to anatomy and physiology textbooks, it would certainly help to be getting regular insight into why I need to know it from the very start.

Unlike the open days I attended five years ago and the more recent Bristol and RVC visits, Nottingham didn’t offer a free-form day where you went to two talks and could optionally go to the farm or have a campus tour. Instead we were given our itinery and taken though a busy afternoon of educational activities. After a talk about the school we went straight into ultrasounding the hearts of four very tolerant dogs. Our group had a brown lab with a tendency to lie down but we all managed to get some images of atria and valves from between the ribs via an “acoustic window” near the right elbow.

(I didn’t take many photos during the day as I wanted to get stuck in to the activities and chat to the existing vet students and other applicants. It seemed a waste of time to stop for pictures even if they’d have improved the blog post! But Tom did take some later on.)

From there we went to a whirlwind obstetrics class where we delivered toy lambs and diagnosed pregnancy on “breeding betsy”, a model cow rectum/uterus. Here I had a chance to talk to some other potential vets and it was really interesting to hear their views on the universities I haven’t applied to, such as Surrey and Cambridge. Before long though we were off on a tour of the campus, a quiz, a mock emergency situation and a sutreing lesson!

WP_20160910_002.jpg

I so enjoyed this open day, but best of all was the visit to the huge university dairy. It featured an incredibly high-tech indoor system: robotic milking, automated slurry scrapers, individual feeding programmes, cow mattresses and my favourite – cow wash brushes. Tom had to elbow me to point out a cow using one. Although I appreciated the advantages of the robot milker I got very frustrated watching it try to find a cow’s teats with the lasers and was tempted to try and lend a hand. We couldn’t take photos in the dairy or I would be bombarding you with them now (you know – how I do with sheep photos).

For me, Nottingham has two other advantages besides the amazing facilities and course. First is its proximity to beautiful Derbyshire where I grew up and am always going home to. Second, the entire veterinary course is based on one rural campus in Sutton Bonnington. Tom and I keep talking about buying a house when we move to wherever I end up studying, so to be on one campus for the whole course in what seemed to be a lovely area would make that much easier.

This weekend cemented Nottingham as one of my choices and saw the start of my application process. I also dropped in on one of the vets I’ll be shadowing in farm practice next month to make sure the arrangements would all work out. It’s been busy and nerve-racking but hopefully very worth it! Thanks for reading and good luck if you’re applying too at the moment 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

