Interview nerves!

So, the scary crazy exciting news is that I have an interview for Nottingham on Wednesday next week. I had two days off work to use up this month so I booked one of them and the interview is 10am so I have enough time to drive up there first thing.

At first I was so, so excited and happy to have an interview, especially for my top choice university. Since then some weird nightmares including “forgetting” you aren’t meant to leave interviews halfway through and rejection letters have kicked in! I’ve tried to re-cap my placement notes and things I’ve read over the past year, but at this point (as I have to keep reminding myself) it’s not about what I can cram. It’s what I’ve been living and breathing this last year and more generally the theme of animal biology which has run through my whole life!

Nottingham write on their website that the interviews have three 20-minute sessions, including a formal interview, practical and group task. None of those sound too scary. I’ve tried to prepare answers to a few obvious interview questions and I’m going to download my competency notes from work tomorrow in case they come in handy, having had a successful interview using them earlier this year. For the practical I’ll just try to be enthusiastic (shouldn’t be difficult) and think things through logically. As for the group task, they gave us a little taster at the open day – I’m going to try and start useful discussion of our task without dominating, make useful suggestions, encourage others and include everyone like we look for when recruiting apprentices at work. I can’t tell if that experience has been useful or not: yes, I appreciate how a group task works, but I can get carried away picturing their wash-up discussion afterwards!

Then there are the other dilemmas like what to wear, but I think they can wait until the night before. Good luck to everyone else with their interviews, I hope they go well and you end up where you want to be! Xxx

20161020_175348.jpg

2 thoughts on “Interview nerves!

Leave a Reply

